## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

### **RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.969** TO BE ANSWERED ON 09.03.2017

### PASSPORT SEVA KENDRAS IN POST OFFICES

#### 969. SHRI T.G. VENKATESH:

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has embarked upon opening of Passport Seva Kendras (PSKs) in Post Offices of every district headquarter;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether it is a fact that such kendras are being set up in Kurnool and Kadapa districts of Andhra Pradesh and if so, the details thereof; and
- (d) by when these kendras would be operational?

## ANSWER THE MINISTER FOR EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRIMATI SUSHMA SWARAJ)

(a) & (b) The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) and the Department of Posts (DOP) announced on 24 January, 2017 their decision to utilize the Head Post Offices (HPO) in the various States as Post Office Passport Seva Kendra (POPSK) for delivering passport related services to the citizens of the country. The objective of this partnership is to extend passport services on a larger scale and to ensure wider area coverage. The pilot projects for this joint venture between MEA and DOP was inaugurated on 25 January, 2017 at the Post Offices at Mysuru in Karnataka and at Dahod in Gujarat. The POPSK at these two places have been running successfully since their inauguration. With the successful operationalization of these two pilot projects, the Government has now decided to scale up this programme by opening 64 POPSKs, as per list attached at Annexure. Out of these 64 POPSK, nine POPSK at Vidisha, Rourkela, Asansol, Kavaratti, Pathanamthitta, Kota, Udhampur, Raiganj and Salem have since been inaugurated.

(c) & (d) Yes. Two POPSK at Kurnool and Kadapa districts of Andhra Pradesh have been announced. MEA and DOP are working closely for the early commencement of passport related services from these POPSKs.

\*\*\*\*\*

# ANNEXURE

S.N.	Locations	State	S.N.	Locations	State
1.	Kurnool	Andhra Pradesh	33.	Gulbarga	Karnataka
2.	Kadappa	Andhra Pradesh	34.	Pathanamthitta	Kerala
3.	Silchar	Assam	35.	Kasargod	Kerala
4.	Purnia,	Bihar	36.	Kavaratti	Lakshadweep
5.	Gopalganj	Bihar	37.	Gwalior	Madhya Pradesh
6.	Muzaffarpur	Bihar	38.	Satna	Madhya Pradesh
7.	Bhagalpur	Bihar	39.	Jabalpur	Madhya Pradesh
8.	Siwan	Bihar	40.	Vidisha	Madhya Pradesh
9.	Surguja	Chhattisgarh	41.	Aurangabad	Maharashtra
10.	Daman	Daman	42.	Beed	Maharashtra
11.	Diu	Diu	43.	Ghatkopar	Maharashtra
12.	Silvasa	Dadra & Nagar	44.	Mumbai North	Maharashtra
		Haveli		Central	
13.	East Delhi	Delhi	45.	Mumbai South	Maharashtra
				Central	
14.	Noth East Delhi,	Delhi	46.	Jalgaon	Maharashtra
15.	North West Delhi	Delhi	47.	Kolhapur	Maharashtra
16.	South Delhi	Delhi	48.	Pimpri Chinchwad	Maharashtra
17.	West Delhi	Delhi	49.	Rourkela	Odisha
18.	Bhuj	Gujarat	50.	Sambalpur	Odisha
19.	Palanpur	Gujarat	51.	Koraput	Odisha
20.	Hisar	Haryana	52.	Kota	Rajasthan
21.	Karnal	Haryana	53.	Jaisalmer	Rajasthan
22.	Faridabad	Haryana	54.	Jhunjhunu	Rajasthan
23.	Palampur	Himachal Pradesh	55.	Bikaner	Rajasthan
24.	Hamirpur	Himachal Pradesh	56.	Jhalawar	Rajasthan
25.	Leh	J&K	57.	Salem	Tamil Nadu
26.	Udhampur	J&K	58.	Vellore	Tamil Nadu
27.	Jamshedpur	Jharkhand	59.	Mehbubnagar	Telangana
28.	Dhanbad	Jharkhand	60.	Warangal	Telangana
29.	Deoghar	Jharkhand	61.	North Kolkata	West Bengal
30.	Belgaum	Karnataka	62.	Asansol	West Bengal
31.	Devangere	Karnataka	63.	Nadia	West Bengal
32.	Hassan	Karnataka	64.	Raiganj	West Bengal

\*\*\*\*\*