GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY RAJYA SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3591

TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.04.2017

CRITERIA FOR CITIES UNDER THE DEVELOPMENT OF SOLAR CITIES PROGRAMME

3591. SHRIMATI JAYA BACHCHAN:

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) the criteria fixed for inclusion of cities under the Development of Solar Cities programme;
- (b) the names of the cities which have been included and those likely to be included under the Programme, State-wise;
- (c) the details of facilities provided to such cities; and
- (d) the funds allocated and spent under the Programme during the last three years and the current year, State-wise?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

- (a): Under 'Development of Solar Cities Programme,' the criteria fixed for inclusion of cities is:
- (i) Cities/towns will have population between 50,000 to 50 lakh including the floating population while the cities with less population, located in North-Eastern & Hilly States, Islands & Union Territories may also be considered, on case to case basis, on merit.
- (ii) At-least one city in each State will be included and up to a maximum of seven cities in any one State.

The programme encourages cities with high level of commitment towards adoption of sustainable energies, initiatives and regulatory measures taken to promote renewable energy & energy conservation and willingness to provide resources, financial share and sustenance of activities initiated under the programme.

- **(b):** The names of the cities included under Development of Solar Cities Programme, State-wise, are given at **Annexure-I.**
- (c): Under this Programme, Central Financial Assistance (CFA) is provided for:
- (i) Upto Rs.50 lakh for each solar city, out of which upto Rs.10 lakh is for preparation of Master Plan along with Detailed Project Reports, upto Rs.10 lakh for oversight of its implementation, upto Rs.10 lakh for setting up and functioning of Solar City Cells and upto Rs.20 lakh for organizing promotional activities, trainings, workshops, study tours and augmenting the activities of Solar City Cell in the city.
- (ii) Financial support upto Rs.9.50 crore is available to 8 Model Solar Cities and upto Rs.2.50 crore to 15 Pilot Solar Cities for setting up of renewable energy projects/systems/devices, provided that an equal amount will be made available by the concerned Municipal Corporation/City Administration/State or from any other resources. The CFA pattern will be as applicable in the CFA of various schemes/programmes of the Ministry of New & Renewable Energy (MNRE) for Model and Pilot Solar Cities. The other solar cities will get CFA as per provisions under various schemes/programmes of the MNRE.
- (d): The details of funds allocated and released during the last three years and the current year, Statewise, are given at **Annexure-II**.

Annexure-I referred to in reply to part (b) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No.3591 to be answered on 03-04-2017 regarding 'Criteria for cities under the Development of Solar Cities Programme'.

State-wise names of approved cities under the Development of Solar Cities Programme.

Sr. No	States/UTs	Approved Cities		
1	Andhra Pradesh	1. Vijayawada*		
		2. Kakinada		
		3. Narsapur Town		
2	Assam	4. Guwahati		
		5. Jorhat		
3	Arunachal Pradesh	6. Itanagar		
4	Bihar	7. Gaya		
5	Chandigarh	8. Chandigarh**		
6	Chhattisgarh	9. Bilaspur		
6		10. Raipur*		
	Gujarat	11. Rajkot*		
7		12. Gandhinagar**		
		13. Surat		
8	Goa	14. Panaji City		
0	Horyono	15. Gurgaon		
9	Haryana	16. Faridabad*		
10	Himachal Pradesh	17. Shimla*		
		18. Hamirpur		
4.4	Karnataka	19. Mysore**		
11		20. Hubli-Dharwad		
40	Kerala	21. Thiruvananthapuram		
12		22. Kochi		
	Maharashtra	23. Nagpur**		
		24. Thane*		
		25. Kalyan-Dombivli		
13		26. Aurangabad		
		27. Nanded		
		28. Pune		
		29. Shirdi*		
	Madhya Pradesh	30. Indore		
14		31. Gwalior		
		32. Bhopal		
		33. Jabalpur		
		34. Rewa		
15	Manipur	35. Imphal		

Sr. No	States/UTs	Approved Cities		
16	Mizoram	36. Aizawl*		
17	Nagaland	37. Kohima		
		38. Dimapur		
18	Delhi	39. New Delhi (NDMC area)		
19	Odisha	40. Bhubaneswar**		
20	Punjab	41. Amritsar*		
		42. Ludhiana		
		43. SAS Nagar (Mohali)		
21	Rajasthan	44. Ajmer		
		45. Jaipur		
		46. Jodhpur		
22	Tamil Nadu	47. Coimbatore*		
23	Telangana	48. Mahbubnagar		
24	Tripura	49. Agartala*		
25	Uttarakhand	50. Dehradun		
		51. Haridwar & Rishikesh		
		52. Chamoli–Gopeshwar		
26	Uttar Pradesh	53. Agra		
		54. Moradabad		
		55. Allahabad		
27	West Bengal	56. Howrah		
		57. Madhyamgram		
		58. New Town Kolkata		
28	Jammu & Kashmir	59. Leh*		
29	Puducherry	60. Puducherry*		

^{*}Pilot Solar Cities (13 nos.) ** Model Solar Cities (5 nos.)

Annexure-II referred to in reply to part (d) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No.3591 to be answered on 03-04-2017 regarding 'Criteria for cities under the Development of Solar Cities Programme'.

State-wise cumulative funds allocated and released during the last three years and the current year (upto 25th March 2017) under 'Development of Solar Cities Programme'

(Rs. in crore)

-	(Rs. in crore)		
Sr.	State/UT	Funds	Funds
No.		Sanctioned	Released
1.	Andhra Pradesh	2.000	1.532
2.	Assam	0.000	0.027
3.	Chandigarh	0.446	4.748
4.	Chhattisgarh	2.500	0.000
5.	Delhi	0.500	0.023
6.	Gujarat	0.000	0.017
7.	Haryana	0.307	0.095
8.	Himachal Pradesh	2.500	1.565
9.	Karnataka	0.000	0.016
10.	Kerala	0.488	0.194
11.	Madhya Pradesh	0.480	0.190
12.	Maharashtra	6.550	3.128
13.	Mizoram	0.599	1.418
14.	Nagaland	0.000	0.090
15.	Odisha	9.500	0.000
16.	Puducherry	0.494	0.000
17.	Punjab	0.500	0.022
18.	Tamil Nadu	2.500	0.195
19.	Tripura	0.000	1.487
20.	Uttar Pradesh	0.498	0.175
21.	Uttarakhand	0.000	0.050
22.	West Bengal	0.500	0.413
TOTAL		30.362	15.385