GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3590

TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.04.2017

SOLID WASTE POWER PLANTS

3590. SHRIMATI SAROJINI HEMBRAM:

Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of solid-waste power plants generating power/electricity using solid-waste in the country;
- (b) whether Government has set up any new such power plants in the recent past during the last year;
- (c) if so, the details thereof with its generation capacities; and
- (d) if not, whether Government is planning to set-up such power plants in the country?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

- (a): Presently, five Waste to Energy (WtE) power plants using Municipal Solid Waste (MSW) are operational and generating electricity in the country. Details of operational WtE power plants set up in the country are given at **Annexure-I.**
- (b) to (d): Recently, WtE Power plants using MSW at Okhla (12 MW) and Narela-Bawana (24 MW) in Delhi have become operational and started generating electricity. In addition, the Ministry of Urban Development, under "Swachh Bharat Mission" (SBM), provides support for setting up of WtE plants, subject to the overall State-wise funds envelop for SBM. The city-wise details of plants, supported under SBM, are given at **Annexure-II.**

Annexure-I

Annexure-I referred to in reply to part (a) of the Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3590 to be Answered on 03/04/2017 regarding "Solid waste power plants"

Details of operational waste to energy power plants set up in the country

S. No	State	Name of the City / Town	Capacity (MW)
1	Maharashtra	Solapur	3
2	New Delhi	Okhla	12
3	New Delhi	Ghazipur	16
4	Madhya Pradesh	Jabalpur	11.4
5	Delhi	Narela- Bawana	24
		Total	66.4

Annexure-II referred to in reply to parts (b) to (d) of the Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 3590 to be Answered on 03/04/2017 regarding "Solid waste power plants"

Details of city-wise plants supported under "Swachh Bharat Mission" (SBM)

S.No.	State	City	Total (MW)
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Guntur	15
2.	Andhra Pradesh	Tirupati	6
3.	Andhra Pradesh	Vizianagaram	4
4.	Andhra Pradesh	Tadapalligudam	5
5.	Andhra Pradesh	Machalipatnam	4
6.	Andhra Pradesh	Kadapa	5
7.	Andhra Pradesh	Anantapur	4
8.	Andhra Pradesh	Nellore	4
9.	Andhra Pradesh	Kurnool	1
10.	Bihar	Patna	10
11.	Chhattisgarh	Durg-Bhilai	5
12.	Chhattisgarh	Raipur	5
13.	Gujarat	Surat	13.5
14.	Haryana	Karnal	3.5
15.	Haryana	Sonepat	5
16.	Haryana	Bandhmadi	10
17.	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla	1.7
18.	J&K	Srinagar	6.5
19.	Jharkhand	Ranchi	11
20.	Jharkhand	Dhanbad	12
21.	Karnataka	Bengaluru (7 plants)	20
22.	Kerala	Kochi	10
23.	MP	Bhopal	20
24.	MP	Rewa	6
25.	MP	Indore	20
26.	MP	Gwalior	10
27.	Maharashtra	Nagpur	11.5
28.	Manipur	Imphal	2
29.	New Delhi	Kidwai Nagar	1.6
30.	Odisha	Bhubaneswar & Cuttack,	11.5
31.	Punjab	Amritsar	11.5

S.No.	State	City	Total (MW)
32.	Rajasthan	Jaipur	15
33.	Tamil Nadu	Pallavapuram&Tambaram Venkatamangalam Project	4
34.	Telangana	Cluster of 18 ULBs (M/ s Shalivahana MSWM Green Enenrgy Ltd)	12
35.	Telangana	Cluster of 16 ULBs (M/s Hemasri Power Projects Ltd.)	12.6
36.	Telangana	Greater Hyderabad Muncipal Corporation (RDF Power Projects Ltd.)	11
37.	Telangana	Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (SELCO)	6.6
38.	UP	Agra	10
39.	UP	Rampur	8
40.	UP	Meerut	10
		Total	344.5