GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF COAL RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.3521 TO BE ANSWERED ON 03.04.2017

Outstanding coal supply dues of power plants

3521. SHRI PARVEZ HASHMI:

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

(a) the coal based power companies, including NTPC on which dues for coal supply is outstanding, details of the outstanding amount;

(b) names of the coal mining sites allocated after year 2014 for supply to coal based power plants, the details thereof; and

(c) whether private sector companies are also supplying coal to power plants, if so, the details thereof?

<u>A N S W E R</u>

MINISTER OF STATE (I/C) IN THE MINISTRY OF COAL, POWER, NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a). The power sector has Rs.12806.54 Crore dues outstanding as on 31.12.2016 to Coal India Limited for coal supply. State Gencos/Central Gencos/Private Sector-wise details are attached at <u>Annexure - 1</u>

(b) & (c). 13 coal blocks have been allocated under the amended provisions of Mines and Minerals (Development & Regulation) Act, 1957 and Auction by Competitive Bidding of Coal Mines Rules, 2012. Out of 13 coal blocks, 11 coal blocks has been allocated for Captive use of coal in the power plants and 2 coal blocks for 'Commercial Mining' to the various Central/ State Government Public Sector Undertakings and Joint Venture companies of Central and State Government Public Sector Undertakings. Details of the above-mentioned 11 coal blocks allotted for end use 'Power' are at <u>Annexure – 2</u>. Under the provisions of Coal Mines (Special Provisions) Act, 2015, since 2015, 50 coal mines have been allocated for the specified end-use "Power". The details of these coal mines is at <u>Annexure -3</u>

Dues from Power Sector as on 31.12.2016

	Annexure - 1
Consumers	Amount (in Rs.crore)
State Gencos/SEBs	
APGENCO	90.86
BSEB (BSPHCL)	203.65
CSPGCL	456.47
DPL	98.36
DPS	1.08
GSECL	160.19
HPGCL	76.59
IPGCL (DVB)	17.55
JSEB	33.94
KPCL	236.78
MAHAGENCO (MSPGCL)	1,223.97
MPPGCL	1,046.33
OPGC	13.17
PSPCL	234.41
RRVUNL	658.52
TANGEDCO (TNEB)	292.29
TVNL	222.83
UPRVUNL	988.51
WBPDCL	1,594.13
WBSEB	1.29
Total Dues of State Gencos/SEBs	7,650.92
Central PSUs	
DVC	1,256.32
NTPC	3,700.70
KBUNL	30.58
APCPL (Aravali)	38.43
NTECL	
BOKARO PS	1.07
DCC	6.17
Total Dues of Central Gencos	5,033.27
Total Dues of private power sector	122.35
Total Dues for Power Sector	12,806.54

Annexure - 2

List of 11 COAL BLOCKS ALLOCATED UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF MMDR ACT, 1957 TO STATE GOVERNMENT PSUS AND JV of CENTRAL AND STATE PSU AND CPSU FOR END USE 'POWER'

SI. No.	Name of Allocatee company (ies)	Host State	Coal Block allocated	Estima ted Reser ves (In MT)	Date of allotment	CBDPA signed on	End- Use	End-use Plant(s)
1.	Rajasthan RajyaVidy utUtpadan Nigam Ltd.	Chhattisg arh	Kente Extension	200	31.03.2015	26.10.2015	Power	(i) 2x660 MW (1320 MW) Suratgarh Supercritical TPP Unit 7 & 8, Shriganganagar , Rajasthan (ii) 2x660 MW (1320 MW) Chhabra Supercritical TPP Unit 5 & 6, Distt. Baran, Rajasthan
2	NTPC Ltd.	Chhattisg arh	Banai	629	31.03.2015	26.10.2015	Power	Barethi- Stage –I / 2640 MW Near villages Barethi and Sandini, District: Chhatarpur, State: Madhya Pradesh.
3	NTPC Ltd.	Chhattisg arh	Bhalumud a	550	31.03.2015	26.10.2015	Power	Kudgi-I, Karnataka/ 2400 MW
4	Odisha Thermal Power Corporatio n Ltd	Odisha	Tentuloi	1234	31.03.2015	Not Signed	Power	2400 (3x800) MW TPP at Kamakhyanaga r, Dhenkanal Distt.
5	(i) Jammu & Kashmir State Power Dev. Corp. Ltd. + (ii) NTPC Ltd. (<i>Joint-</i> <i>allocation</i>)	Odisha	Kudanali- Luburi	396	31.03.2015	Not Signed	Power	(i) JKPDCL intends to setup a 1000 MW pithead thermal power plant in the state where coal block is allocated i.e. Odisha. (ii) Bilhaur TPS, U.P./ 1320 MW

SI. No.	Name of Allocatee company (ies)	Host State	Coal Block allocated	Estima ted Reser ves (In MT)	Date of allotment	CBDPA signed on	End- Use	End-use Plant(s)
6	Tamil Nadu Generation and Distributio n Corporatio n Ltd.	Odisha	Chandrabi la	550	24.02.2016	30.03.2016	Power	i) 1x 660 660 MW Ennore TPS. ii) 2X660 = 1320MW Ennore SEZ TPP (Kattupalli) iii) 2x660 = 1320 MW Udangudi Stage-I TPP
7	Andhra Pradesh Power Generation Corp. Ltd.	Odisha	Sarapal- Nuapara	701	24.02.2016	30.03.2016	Power	3X800 MW =2400 MW TPP at Srikakulam Thermal Power Project.
8	Maharasht ra State Power Generation Co. Ltd.	Maharasht ra	Mahajanw adi	340	24.02.2016	19.04.2016	Power	 (i) Nasik Thermal Power Station Unit -6 (1x 660=660 MW) (ii) Bhausawal TPS Unit-6 (1x 660= 660 MW)
9	Madhya Pradesh Power Generating Company Ltd.	Madhya Pradesh	Gondbahe ra-Ujheni	532	31.03.2015	26.10.2015	Power	(i) 2x660 MW (1320 MW) Shree Singaji Thermal Power Project, Ph-II, Khandwa, Madhya Pradesh (ii) 1x660 MW Extension unit, Satpura Thermal Power Station, Sarni Distt. Betul, Madhya Pradesh
10	Haryana Power Generation Corp. Ltd.	Jharkhand	Kalyanpur - Badalpara	102	24.02.2016	30.03.2016	Power	1) 1x800 MW =800 mw (exp.) unit at Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram TPP, Yamunanagar 2) Surplus coal

SI. No.	Name of Allocatee company (ies)	Host State	Coal Block allocated	Estima ted Reser ves (In MT)	Date of allotment	CBDPA signed on	End- Use	End-use Plant(s)
								if any to meet partial requirement of 1x800= 800 MW (exp.) unit proposed to be set up at PTPS, Panipat
11	M/s Neyveli Uttar Pradesh Power Limited [Joint Venture between NLCIL and Uttar Pradesh Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited]	Jharkhand	Pachwara South	279	03.10.2016	22.02.2017	Power	Ghatampur TPP, Ghatampur, Uttar Pradesh – [660 x3 =1980 MW]

	1	Anne	cure - 3
Auction/ Allotment	Name of Coal Mine/Coal Block	Name of the Successful Allottee- Central/State Government PSU	No. of Coal Mines
	Badam	Bihar State Power Generation Co Ltd	1
	Banhardih	Jharkhand Urja Utpadan Nigam Ltd	1
	Baranj I, Baranj II, Baranj III, Baranj IV,Manora Deep & Kiloni	Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd	6
	Barjora	West Bengal Power Development Corporation Limited	1
	Barjora (North)	West Bengal Power Development Corporation Limited	1
	Chatti Bariatu, Chatti Bariatu South	NTPC Ltd	2
	Dulanga	NTPC Ltd	1
	Gangaramchak, Gangaramchak Bhadulia	West Bengal Power Development Corporation Limited	2
	Gare Palma Sector I	Gujarat State Electricity Corporation Limited	1
	Gare Palma Sector II	Maharashtra State Power Generation Co Ltd	1
Allotment	Gare Palma Sector III	Chhattisgarh State Power Generation Co Ltd	1
Anothion	Gidhmuri, Paturia	Chhattisgarh State Power Generation Co Ltd	2
	Kasta East	West Bengal Power Development Corporation Limited	1
	Kerandari	NTPC Ltd	1
	Khagra Joydev	Damodar Valley Corporation	1
	Manoharpur & Manoharpur Dipside	Odisha Coal & Power Limited	2
	Naini	The Singareni Collieries Company Ltd	1
	Pachhwara Central	Punjab State Power Corp Ltd	1
	Pachhwara North	West Bengal Power Development Corporation Limited	1
	Parsa	Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd	1
	Parsa East, Kanta Basan	Rajasthan Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd	2
	Rajbar D & E	Tenughat Vidyut Nigam Ltd	1
	Saharpur Jamarpani	UP Rajya Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Ltd	1

	Sarisatolli Talabira-I	CESC Limited GMR Chhattisgarh Energy Limited	1		
	Tokisud North		1		
	Tokisud North	ESSAR POWER MP LIMITED	1		
	Tokisud North	ESSAR POWER MP LIMITED	1		
	Tokisud North		1		
	Tokisud North	ESSAR POWER MP LIMITED	1		
	Tokisud North	ESSAR POWER MP LIMITED	1		
	Tokisud North	ESSAR POWER MP LIMITED	1		
	Tokisud North	ESSAR POWER MP LIMITED	1		
	I okisud North	ESSAR POWER MP LIMITED	1		
	TORISUG NORTH		I		
			I		
			1		
		THE DURGAPUR PROJECTS			
A (!	Trans Damodar	THE DURGAPUR PROJECTS	1		
Auction			1		
AUCTION		LIMITED*	I		
	Canachpur	GMP Chhattisgarh Enorgy Limited	1		
	Ganeshpur	GMR Chhattisgarh Energy Limited	1		
			4		
	Jitpur	Adani Power Limited	1		
	÷		•		
	Mandakini	Mandakini Exploration & Mining Limited	1		
	IVIAIIUAKIIII		I		
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			
	Utkal - C	Monnet Power Company Ltd	1		
		. ,	9		
Auction Total					
	Grand Total				
		- I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I	50		