GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 3003 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12.12.2016

DISABLED PERSONS UNDER NRLM

3003. SHRI DEVENDER GOUD T.:

Will the Minister of **RURAL DEVELOPMENT** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether disabled persons have not been covered under the National Rural Livelihoods Mission (NRLM) during 2015-16 in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana;
- (b) if so, the reasons therefor; and
- (c) the details of beneficiaries since 2012, year-wise and district-wise in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana?

ANSWER MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RURAL DEVELOPMENT (SHRI RAM KRIPAL YADAV)

(a) and (b): The Government is implementing Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana – National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY – NRLM), in a mission mode, across the country with the objective to organize all rural poor households, continuously nurture and support them for taking up economic activities till they come out of abject poverty. The programme aims to ensure that at least one woman member from each rural poor household is brought under the Self Help Group (SHG) by 2024-2025. NRLM has adopted a phased implementation strategy to provide intensive support to the SHGs and their federations such that the Mission reaches out to all rural poor households. At present the programme is being implemented in all the States (including Andhra Pradesh and Telangana) and 4 Union Territories (Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep, and Puducherry). Under DAY - NRLM, target coverage for various social categories is as under:-

SCs/STs : 50% Minorities : 15% Disabled : 3%

(c): A statement indicating number of Persons with Disabilities (PwD) families in SHGs district wise in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana is enclosed as **Annexure I.**

Annexure-I referred in reply to part (c) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question no. 3003 for answer on 12.12.2016

State	District Name	No of PwD families covered in SHGs
Andhra Pradesh	ANANTAPUR	3444
	CHITTOOR	8600
	CUDDAPAH	2258
	EAST GODAVARI	1700
	GUNTUR	3126
	KRISHNA	2663
	KURNOOL	4379
	NELLORE	2857
	PRAKASAM	2001
	SRIKAKULAM	4912
	VISAKHAPATANAM	2354
	VIZIANAGARAM	4011
	WEST GODAVARI	4941
	Total	47246
Telangana	ADILABAD	3491
	KARIMNAGAR	5210
	KHAMMAM	2018
	MAHBUBNAGAR	7993
	MEDAK	3057
	NALGONDA	4051
	NIZAMABAD	2343
	RANGAREDDI	5239
	WARANGAL	4816
	Total	38218