GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF POWER

RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2961 TO BE ANSWERED ON 12.12.2016

COVERAGE OF ELECTRICITY

2961. SHRI DILIP KUMAR TIRKEY:

Will the Minister of **POWER** be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that even today the electricity has not reached to 33 per cent population in India;
- (b) if so, the details of population still deprived of electricity connections, statewise; and
- (c) the action taken by Government to bridge this gap?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR POWER, COAL, NEW & RENEWABLE ENERGY AND MINES

(SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL)

(a) to (c): As per Census 2011, there were 16.78 crore rural households in the country and 7.50 crore rural households were un-electrified. State-wise details are given at Annexure. Releasing electrical connections to consumers is the responsibility of the States/Distribution Companies (DISCOMs). In order to provide access to electricity to all rural households and quality and reliable power supply in rural areas, Government of India has launched 'Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana' (DDUGJY) in December, 2014 which envisages (i) Village Electrification; (ii) Providing access to households; (iii) Feeder Separation; (iv) Strengthening of subtransmission and distribution network and (v) Metering. Under DDUGJY (including its RE component), free electricity connections to 2.5 crore BPL households has been released, as on 31.10.2016. Government of India has taken a joint initiative with States and developed documents giving roadmap to provide 24x7 Power to all.

ANNEX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2961 TO BE ANSWERED IN THE RAJYA SABHA ON 12.12.2016.

Status of Electrification of Rural Households (RHHs) as per Census 2011

As on 31.10.2016

Sl. No	Name of State	Total Rural Households (in crore)	Balance un-electrified Rural Households (in crore)
1	A & N	0.01	0.00
2	Andhra Pradesh	1.42	0.15
3	Telangana		
4	Arunachal Pradesh	0.02	0.01
5	Assam	0.54	0.39
6	Bihar	1.69	1.52
7	Chandigarh	0.00	0.00
8	Chhattisgarh	0.44	0.13
9	Dadra & Nagar Haveli	0.00	0.00
10	Daman & Diu	0.00	0.00
11	Goa	0.01	0.00
12	Gujarat	0.68	0.10
13	Haryana	0.30	0.04
14	Himachal Pradesh	0.13	0.00
15	Jammu & Kashmir	0.15	0.03
16	Jharkhand	0.47	0.32
17	Karnataka	0.79	0.10
18	Kerala	0.41	0.03
19	Lakshadweep	0.00	0.00
20	Madhya Pradesh	1.11	0.46
21	Maharashtra	1.30	0.34
22	Manipur	0.03	0.01
23	Meghalaya	0.04	0.02
24	Mizoram	0.01	0.00
25	Nagaland	0.03	0.01
26	NCT Delhi	0.01	0.00
27	Odisha	0.81	0.52
28	Puducherry	0.01	0.00
29	Punjab	0.33	0.01
30	Rajasthan	0.95	0.40
31	Sikkim	0.01	0.00
32	Tamil Nadu	0.96	0.09
33	Tripura	0.06	0.02
34	Uttar Pradesh	2.55	1.94
35	Uttarakhand	0.14	0.02
36	West Bengal	1.37	0.82
	GRAND TOTAL	16.78	7.50
