GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OFDEFENCE RAJYA SABHA QUESTION NO21.04.2010 ANSWERED ON CONSTITUTION OF CANTONMENT BOARDS .

2784

Shri Mohammed Adeeb

Will the Minister of COALDEFENCE be pleased to state :-

(a) the details of Cantonment Boards in the country where elections have been duly conducted and Boards constituted;

(b) the details of Cantonment Boards where elections have not been held on time and reasons therefor;

(c) whether it is a fact that the Cantonment Board of Meerut has not been duly constituted on time;

(d) if so, the details of representations/requests received in the case of Meerut Cantt. Board and action taken thereon; and

(e) the steps being taken to expedite constitution of the Meerut Cantt. Board in terms of Section-13 of the Cantt. Act?

ANSWER

(SHRI A.K. ANTONY)

MINISTER OF DEFENCE

(a) A statement is attached.

(b) Election to only Meerut Cantonment Board out of the sixty two Cantonment Boards has not been held since the same was stayed by the Hon'ble Allahabad High Court vide its order dated 9.6.2008 in CMWP No.27630/2008.

(c) No, Sir. After the elected members of the Meerut Cantonment Board completed their term, the constitution of Cantonment Board, Meerut was varied under section 14 of the Cantonments Act, 1924 and a Board was constituted under section 14 of the Cantonments Act, 1924 on 3.3.2003 which functioned till 17.12.2006. After the Cantonments Act, 2006 came into force, the Board was constituted again on 18.12.2006 under section 13 of the Cantonments Act, 2006. This Board is functioning in the Meerut Cantonment ever since.

(d) Representations/requests have been received from various sources including some Hon'ble Members of Parliament for holding election to Meerut Cantonment Board. As per the requests made, election to Meerut Cantonment Board has been notified in the official Gazette on 25.3.2010 to be held on 13.6.2010 after the CMWP No.27630/2008 was dismissed by Hon'ble Allahabad High Court vide its order dated 27.1.2010.

(e) Cantonment Board, Meerut has already been constituted under section 13 of the Cantonments Act, 2006 on 18.12.2006.

STATEMENT REFERRED IN THE REPLY GIVEN IN PART (a) IN RESPECT OF RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2784 FOR 21.4.2010 REGARDING CONSTITUTION OF CANTONMENT BOARDS.

Elections to the 61 out of the 62 Cantonment Boards as indicated in the table given below have already been held and respective Boards duly constituted under section 12 of the Cantonments Act, 2006:

TABLE	
Sl.No. Name of Cantonment Boards	Sl. No. Name of Cantonment Boards
1. Agra 32. Jammu	
2. Ahmedabad 33. Jhansi	
3. Ahmednagar 34. Jutogh	
4. Ajmer 35. Kamptee	
5. Allahabad 36. Kanpur	
6. Almora 37. Kasauli	
7. Ambala 38. Khasyol	

8. Amritsar 39. Kirkee 9. Aurangabad 40. Landour 41. Lansdowne 10. Babina 11. Badamibagh 42. Lebong 12. Bakloh 43. Lucknow 13. Bareilly 44. Mathura 14. Barrackpore 45. Mhow 15. 46. Morar Belgaum 16. Cannanore 47. Nainital 17. Chakrata 48. Nasirabad Clement Town 49. Pachmarhi 18. 19. Dagshai 50. Pune 20. Dalhousie 51. Ramgarh 21. 52. Ranikhet Danapur Dehradun 53. Roorkee 22. 23. Dehu Road 54. Saugor 24. Delhi 55. Secunderabad 25. Deolali 56. Shahjahanpur 26. Faizabad 57. Shillong 27. Fatehgarh 58. St. Thomas Mount 28. Ferozepur 59. Subathu 29. Jabalpur 60. Varanasi 30. Jalandhar 61. Wellington Jalapahar 31.